Heart of Hope

It is a truth universally acknowledged that Hope’s faculty make a tremendous difference.

Talk to any alum, no matter the era, and he or she will share stories of a mentor—and usually many—whose enthusiasm, guidance and personal interest, running in tandem of course with their scholarly expertise, were transformative.

The seven faculty retiring at the end of the current school year have been making that difference at Hope for a combined total of 260 years, individually from 17 to 48 years—literally for generations: Dr. Christopher Barney, the T. Eliot Weier Professor of Biology; Dr. Thomas Ludwig, the John Dirk Werkman Professor of Psychology; Dr. Anthony Perovich, professor of philosophy; Dr. James Piers ’69, professor of sociology; Dr. Peter Schakel, the Peter C. and Emajean Cook Professor of English; Dr. Michael Seymour, professor of chemistry; and Vicki TenHaken ’73, professor of management. They’ve more than earned the next stage in their lives, but they’ll be missed.